Dr. Stevie Watson Selected as Dean of the School of Business

  • Thursday, Jul 7, 2016

Madison, Wis. (July 7, 2016) – Edgewood College is honored to announce Dr. Stevie Watson as the new Dean of the School of Business. Dr. Watson begins his new position in July. Dr. Stevie Watson

“Dr. Watson shares Edgewood College’s strong commitment to excellence in teaching and learning,” Dean Pribbenow, Vice President for Academic Affairs said. “His work with students at both the undergraduate and graduate levels makes him uniquely qualified to assume this critical role at Edgewood College. We look forward to his energy and enthusiasm making an immediate impact on both our campus community, and on Greater Madison.”

Dr. Watson, or “Stevie” as he prefers, was most recently Chair and Associate Professor of Marketing in the Department of Management, Marketing, and Public Administration (MMPA) at Bowie State University in Maryland. Under his leadership as department chair at Bowie State University, a new Entrepreneurship and Small Business Management concentration has been approved and will begin Fall 2016 Semester. He also established the MMPA Conference, an annual conference that provides networking and internship opportunities for business students with various firms and government agencies in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. 

Prior to Bowie State University, Stevie held faculty positions at the Business School at Rutgers University, University of Dayton, St. Cloud State University in Minnesota, University of Wisconsin-Superior, and Medgar Evers College in New York.

Stevie received his academic degrees, including his Ph.D., from Mississippi State University. His current research interests include societal issues in marketing, ethnic and racial studies, and retail service failures and recovery strategies. Dr. Watson’s research has been published in the Journal of Public Policy & Marketing, Journal of Supply Chain Management, Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services, and many other notable academic journals.

He is the recipient of the 2006 American Academy of Advertising Doctoral Dissertation Award and the 2010 Ernst & Young Inclusive Excellence Award for Accounting and Business School Faculty.