Men's Golf Claims Academic Honors from GCAA

  • Tuesday, Jul 26, 2022


NORMAN, Okla. (July 26, 2022) – The Edgewood College Men's Golf team added multiple accolades from the Golf Coaches Association of America this week. The Eagles team was one of eight programs in all of Division III to receive the team Presidents Special Recognition. In addition, three Eagles were announced as 2021-22 All-American Scholars.

To qualify as a Presidents Special Recognition, a team must post a 3.50 or higher grade point average for the academic year. The Eagles were one of only eight teams in all of Division III and one of only of 57 programs across all divisions to post that high of a GPA.

Wisconsin Lutheran joined Edgewood College from the NACC as one of the eight schools in Division III.

It was the fourth Presidents Award from the GCAA for the Eagles all time and second-straight. Edgewood College also earned those honors in 2014-15, 2018-19, and 2020-21.

The three Eagles to be named All-American Scholars were Matthew Davidson, Kasen Fager, and Jake Schroeckenthaler. In order to qualify, a student-athlete must be a sophomore or above academically, participate in 50 percent of his teams' competitive rounds, have a stroke average under 79 in Division III, and maintain a cumulative career GPA of 3.2 or higher.

Davidson earned his third selection in a row, being a staple in the Eagles lineup since arriving on campus. Fager and Schroeckenthaler earned the distinction for the first time in their careers.

The Golf Coaches Association of America is headquartered in Norman, Oklahoma - home to the University of Oklahoma.

(l. to r. - Coach Gary Oftedahl, Matthew Davidson, Jeromy Toutant,  Jake Schroeckenthaler, Noah Anderson, Ryan Beck, Kasen Fager.)